Chicken, Food, Main Dishes, Quick & Easy Main Dishes

Easy Chicken Quesadillas

rp_quesadillas11.jpg

Just in time for Cinco de Mayo…

…what? You don’t celebrate Cinco de Mayo?? Ok well, neither do I. However, I can always use an excuse to serve up yet another Mexican-themed dish.

If you haven’t noticed my last blog post was on these tasty tostadas.

I think I’m sort of obsessed. My husband once claimed that I never made any other kind of food! While I think that statement is a little extreme, I do love Mexican food and especially quesadillas.

These quesadillas are a cinch to throw together, and dinner can be done in minutes if you already have shredded chicken. I like to cook a little extra chicken than I need for a recipe, that way I can have a quick meal later by storing the extra cooked chicken in the freezer.

Although I know quesadillas can be made quickly with just chicken and cheese, this sauce mixture adds so much flavor and takes no time at all to whip up.

quesadillas21

 

Easy Chicken Quesadillas
Author: Laura Crowther
Prep time:
Cook time:
Total time:
Serves: 6 quesadillas
Ingredients
  • 1/2 cup chunky salsa (or use my homemade salsa recipe)
  • 2 Tablespoons mayonaise
  • 1/2 teaspoon ancho chile pepper (or use chipotle if you want a little more heat)
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 6 medium flour tortillas
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked chicken, shredded
  • 3/4 cup shredded cheddar (or Mexican blend) cheese
Instructions
  1. In a small bowl, combine salsa, mayo, chile powder, and cumin.
  2. Spread salsa mixture on one half of each side of the tortillas, evenly dividing up the sauce mixture.
  3. Add chicken on top of salsa mixture and top with about 2 Tablespoons cheese on each quesadilla.
  4. Cook quesadillas in pairs in a skillet (preferably a flat one) over medium-low heat until cheese is melted and tortilla is golden brown and crispy. Cut in half and serve immediately.

5 thoughts on “Easy Chicken Quesadillas”

Leave a comment